Liverpool fans frustrated as Reds star fails to make it to the PFA Premier League Team of the Year

The Professional Footballers’ Association’s (PFA) announced its team of the year and that has left the footballing fraternity buzzing. Five Manchester City players have been named in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year.

Midfielders Kevin de Bruyne and David Silva, defenders Nicolas Otamendi and Kyle Walker, and striker Sergio Aguero represent the newly crowned champions.

From Tottenham, Christian Eriksen, Harry Kane and Jan Vertonghen have been picked, while Manchester United only have their star goalkeeper David De Gea in the team.

However, it is astonishing to see only Mohamed Salah represents Liverpool. Salah has been outstanding since the start of the season and has 40 goals in all competitions, which rightfully sees him in PFA’s team of the year.

Andrew Robertson

However, Salah being the only Liverpool player to make the PFA’s team is baffling as along with the Egyptian, I expected Andrew Robertson to make the cut.

Instead of Robertson, Chelsea’s Marcos Alonso has been included, who has only been decent this season. If Alonso is compared to Robertson, the latter has performed exceedingly well. The Scotland international has been a regular fixture for the Reds since Christmas last year.

Robertson has shown the pace, energy and intent to make those bursting runs which have given Liverpool an added attacking dimension this term.

After the 24-year-old was not picked in the PFA’s team of the year, this is how the Liverpool fans reacted on Twitter.